LibGuides: Sport Management: Books & eBooks

How do I use books and ebooks?

The library has books available in both print and e-book form. Print books are located on the first floor of the library and can be searched for in the catalog. E-books are usually accessed through databases. The library has a few databases of e-books, including:

eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 150,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

Books tend to be better for more general overviews of a topic as opposed to articles that go in-depth on specific topics. Books can cover lots of ground in varying amounts of depth, whereas articles cover a smaller amount of ground in great depth.

Print Books

Search for books in the catalog here.

Some Dewey Decimal ranges where you may find books on this topic are:

650s: Management & Public Relations
790s: Sports, Games & Entertainment

Routledge Handbook of Theory in Sport Management by George B. Cunningham (Editor); Janet S. Fink (Editor); Alison Doherty (Editor)
Call Number: 796.069 R869
ISBN: 9781138803848
Publication Date: 2015
This book serves as a handbook to sports administration and management.
The SAGE Handbook of Sport Management by Russell Hoye (Editor); Milena M. Parent (Editor)
Call Number: 796.069 S129
ISBN: 9781473902435
Publication Date: 2016
This book is a guide to sport management. Topics include leadership, gender, diversity, development, policy, tourism, and media.
Business the NHL Way: Lessons from the Fastest Game on Ice by Norm O'Reilly and Rick Burton
Call Number: 650.1 O321b
ISBN: 9781487508760
Publication Date: 2022
Business the NHL Way draws on hockey-inspired stories to show how brands, institutions, and individuals associated with the NHL have consistently survived a variety of challenges and thrived as a result of its decisions. The book explores twelve business-related scenarios from the sport of hockey and links each lesson back to business, leadership, diversity, management, and sport outcomes.
Principles of Strategic Communication by Derina Rhoda Holtzhausen; Jami A. Fullerton; Bobbi Kay Lewis; Danny Shipka
Call Number: 658.8 H758p
ISBN: 9780367426316
Publication Date: 2021
Designed to support the paradigm shift in media and communication, this book presents the basic tenants of strategic communication and its foundational disciplines of advertising, public relations, and marketing communications. Drawing on the latest research in the field, the text introduces students to the theories of strategic communication while at the same time outlining how to apply them to everyday practice.

eBooks

Good Governance in Sport by Arnout Geeraert; Frank van Eekeren
ISBN: 9781032001227
Publication Date: 2021
This book fills an important gap in the sport governance literature by engaging in critical reflection on the concept of ‘good governance'. It examines the theoretical perspectives that lead to different conceptualisations of governance and, therefore, to different standards for institutional quality.
The Routledge Handbook of Sport and Sustainable Development by Brian P. McCullough; Timothy B. Kellison; E. Nicole Melton
ISBN: 9780367903534
Publication Date: 2022
The Routledge Handbook of Sport and Sustainable Development is a comprehensive and powerful survey of the ways in which sport engages with its social, environmental, and ethical responsibilities. It considers how sport can use its unique profile and platform to influence the attitudes of sport fans and consumers to promote positive social and environmental action around the world and to contribute to sustainable development, perhaps the most important issue of our time.
Digital Business Models in Sport by Mateusz Tomanek (Editor); Wojciech Cieslinski (Editor); Michal Polasik (Editor)
ISBN: 9781000635515
Publication Date: 2022
Digital technologies are having a profound impact on sport business, opening up new opportunities to generate income and value. This book explores the phenomenon of digitization in sport management, with a particular focus on business models and how they are being transformed in this new digital era.
Advances in Sport Management - Best Papers from EURAM 2017 by Anna Gerke and Mathieu Winand
ISBN: 9781789732108
Publication Date: 2018
This ebook contains a selection of the best papers from EURAM 2017.
Routledge Handbook of the Business of Women's Sport by Nancy Lough (Editor); Andrea N. Geurin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138571617
Publication Date: 2019
Combining knowledge from sport management, marketing, media, leadership, governance, and consumer behavior in innovative ways, this book goes further than any other in surveying current theory and research on the business of women's sport around the world, making it an unparalleled resource for all those who aspire to work in, or understand, women's sport.